2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year Jury

Following a vote by the Full membership of the SA Guild of Motoring Journalists, the following members of the Guild have been voted onto the Car of the Year Jury and have confirmed their participation:

  • Aaron Borrill
  • Andrew Leopold
  • Bernard Hellberg Sr.
  • Bernard Hellberg Jr.
  • Bobby Cheetham
  • Charleen Clarke
  • Christo Valentyn
  • Colin Windell
  • Denis Droppa
  • Egmont Sippel
  • Gerhard Horn
  • Gerrie Smit
  • Hannes Visser
  • Janine-Lee Gordon
  • Jannie Hennop
  • Justus Visagie
  • Lerato Matebese
  • Liana Reiners
  • Lindsay Vine Smyth
  • Mark Holdsworth
  • Mark Smyth
  • Ray Leathern
  • Reuben van Niekerk
  • Roger McCleery
  • Rubin van Niekerk
  • Scott Hayes
  • Steve Mearns
  • Stuart Johnston
  • Wynter Murdoch


The eligibility period for vehicles that may be considered for the 2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year competition closes at midnight on 31 August 2013. Early in September, Full members of the SAGMJ will have the opportunity to cast their vote on which of these vehicles, the vote determining the competition’s semi-finalists.

In the first week of October 2013, the Jury will cast their vote on the semi-finalists in order to determine the finalists for the 2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year competition. The finalist announcement is scheduled for Saturday, 19 October 2013, at the Johannesburg International Motor Show (JIMS) and more details about the event will be communicated in due course.

With the sole aim of rewarding automotive excellence, the Jury will put the finalists through stringent testing in January 2014 before scoring each finalist against, its direct class competitors, on aspects that include aesthetics, dynamics, technology and innovation, safety and value for money, to name but a few. The 2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year will be announced at a black tie event on 19 February 2014.

The SA Guild of Motoring Journalists has run the SA Car of the Year competition since 1986, with WesBank - one of South Africa’s largest vehicle finance institutions – as its headline sponsor since inception. Hollard Insurance and Motul supply support sponsorship.