2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year Finalists announced

19 October 2013

2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year Finalists announced

Johannesburg International Motor Show, NASREC Exhibition Centre. The 2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year finalists were announced this afternoon during an exciting reveal event hosted by WesBank, the competition’s headline sponsor, and the SA Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ) at the Johannesburg International Motor Show. The announcement of the 2014 Car of the Year finalists follows a vote cast by a 30-member jury, elected by their peers, on the 40 Semi-finalists.

The nine finalists for the 2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year competition, South Africa’s premier motoring event, are (in alphabetical order):

2013 Audi A3 Sportback 1.4T FSI Manual

2013 Jaguar F-TYPE 3.0 V6 S

2013 Lexus IS 350 F-Sport

2013 Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG

2013 Peugeot 208 GTI

2013 Porsche Cayman S

2013 Renault Clio4 66kW Turbo Dynamique

2013 Volkswagen Golf 7 1.4 TSI 90kW Comfortline DSG

2013 Volvo V40 D3 Geartronic Excel

The next step in the process is a stringent two-day evaluation session to be held in Gauteng in January 2014. Of this evaluation, testing procedures at the world-renowned Gerotek test facility near Pretoria remains a critical aspect and allows the Jury members to assess the cars independently under the conditions individual vehicles would be expected to perform under, with routes and modules designed to test the vehicles in a similar way the average consumer would use them.

The evaluation days offer the Jury the opportunity to reacquaint themselves with the vehicles and specific aspects such as aesthetics, build quality, ergonomics, fuel consumption, environmental friendliness, safety features and value for money, to name but a few. The Jury will also have access to independent performance test data, comparative pricing and specification data from RGT Smart as well as comparative parts pricing data, compiled by Malcolm Kinsey.

While all of the models are deemed to represent examples of outstanding automotive engineering, there can be only one winner and, in the eyes of the COTY Jury, that model will epitomise all-round automotive excellence – the sole criterion for Car of the Year. The winner of the 2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car the Year will be revealed at a gala banquet in February 2014.

Issued on behalf of the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists and WesBank.

Follow the action on Facebook by liking the WesBank Car of the Year page, or on Twitter by following @wesbankcoty.

Enquiries – SA Guild of Motoring Journalists:

Christo Valentyn – Chairman of the SA Guild of Motoring Journalists
082 457 2788  //  christo.valentyn@gmail.com

Adell de Vos – Administrative Manager: SA Guild of Motoring Journalists
021 855 1517 // sagmj@iafrica.com

Enquiries – WesBank:
Michelle Davis – Head of Marketing, WesBank
082 921 8145  // mdavis2@wesbank.co.za

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>