2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car Of The Year Semi-Finalists

Johannesburg. Following a vote by the Full membership of the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists on new vehicles introduced to market within the eligibility period (model ranges and specific derivatives), the SAGMJ is proud to announce the Semi-finalists for the 2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year competition (in alphabetical order):

-       Audi A3 Sportback 1.4T FSI Manual
-       Audi A3 Sportback 1.6 TDI S tronic
-       Audi A3 Sportback 1.8T FSI S tronic
-       Audi A4 allroad 2.0 TDI quattro S tronic
-       Chevrolet Trailblazer 2.8 LTZ 4×2 Auto
-       Citroën DS3 Cabrio THP 155 Sport
-       Ford EcoSport 1.0 EcoBoost Titanium
-       Ford Fiesta ST 1.6 EcoBoost 3-door*
-       Ford Focus ST1 2.0 EcoBoost 5-door*
-       Ford Kuga 1.6 EcoBoost Trend FWD
-       Ford Kuga 2.0 TDCI Titanium Powershift AWD
-       Honda Brio 1.2 Comfort Manual 4-door
-       Honda Brio 1.2 Comfort Manual 5-door
-       Honda CR-V 2.2 Elegance AWD Manual
-       Hyundai Santa Fe R2.2 Premium FWD 5-seater
-       Hyundai Veloster 1.6 GDI Executive Manual
-       Jaguar F-TYPE 3.0 V6
-       Jaguar F-TYPE 3.0 V6 S
-       Kia Cerato 1.6 EX Manual
-       Kia Cerato 2.0 SX Manual
-       Lexus IS 350 F-Sport
-       Mercedes-Benz A 220 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY
-       Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG
-       Mercedes-Benz E 300 BlueTEC HYBRID*
-       Opel Astra 2.0T OPC*
-       Peugeot 208 GTi
-       Porsche Cayman S
-       Range Rover 4.4 SDV8 Vogue SE
-       Renault Clio 4 66kW Turbo Dynamique
-       Renault Clio 4 66kW Turbo Expression
-       Subaru BRZ 2.0 6MT
-       Toyota RAV4 2.2 D-4D AWD GX
-       Volkswagen Golf 7 1.4 TSI 90kW Comfortline DSG
-       Volkswagen Golf 7 2.0 TDI 110kW Highline DSG
-       Volkswagen Golf 7 GTI DSG 2.0 TSI 162kW
-       Volkswagen Golf 7 GTI Manual 2.0 TSI 162kW
-       Volvo V40 D3 Geartronic Excel
-       Volvo V40 T3 Manual Excel
-       Volvo V40 Cross Country D3 Geartronic Elite
-       Volvo V40 Cross Country T5 Geartronic AWD Elite

* These vehicles were considered to be sufficiently different from existing derivatives to be included in the voting.

In the first week of October 2013, the COTY Jury will cast their vote on these semi-finalist models and derivatives will make up the finalists for the 2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year competition. The finalist announcement is scheduled for Saturday, 19 October 2013, at the Johannesburg International Motor Show (JIMS) and more details about the event will be communicated in due course.

With the sole aim of rewarding automotive excellence, the Jury will put the finalists through stringent testing in January 2014 before scoring each finalist against, its direct class competitors, on aspects that include aesthetics, dynamics, technology and innovation, safety and value for money, to name but a few. The 2014 WesBank / SAGMJ Car of the Year will be announced at a black tie event on 19 February 2014.

The SA Guild of Motoring Journalists has run the SA Car of the Year competition since 1986, with WesBank – one of South Africa’s largest vehicle finance institutions – as its headline sponsor since inception. Hollard Insurance and Motul supply support sponsorship.